Welcome to Xhariep District Municipality

Executive Mayor

Cllr M Ntwanambi


Cllr MJ Sehanka

Municipal Manager

Mr. M Kubeka

About Xhariep District Municipality

Xhariep District Municipality was formally established on 6 December 2001 as a result of Section 21 of the Local Government Municipal Demarcation Act 1998 whereby all areas of the former Local Government bodies were re-demarcated and new municipal entities established. Xhariep District Municipality is a Category C municipality situated in the Southern part of the Free State. It is currently made up of four local municipalities: Letsemeng, Kopanong, Mohokare and Naledi, that account to 24 towns. Its administrative headquarters is in Trompsburg, which lies 125km south of Bloemfontein. The towns in this district boast abundant natural resources such as water and agricultural land. The largest dam in South Africa is situated at the southern tip of the district. Three national roads (N1- Gauteng to Cape Town, N6 - Eastern Cape to Bloemfontein and N8 - Bloemfontein to Kimberly) pass through this area. The main contributors to the district economy are agriculture (28%), public service and administration (26%), services and retail (17%) and construction (8%).